Discuss 2012 Domestic Installer Regulations - Help!! in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

smiffy70

Hi Chaps - First post on this forum so go easy on me !

I'm a time served plumber but am leaving my employer after Christmas to go self employed - Being part of a large company we had our own electricians but going self employed I was wanting to complete a Part P domestic installer course and 17th Edition wiring regs to enable me to perform basic tasks such as replacing showers, moving a socket in a bathroom etc in conjuction with the rest of my regular plumbing jobs (On the occasions our in house sparky was off ill or on holiday it was a pain having to wait around on a job for hours till another outside contractor arrived to do a 10 minute electrical job and I don't want to be in the same position as that while self employed) HOWEVER, I have been told and read a couple of articles about the legal requirements changing in January 2012 to ANY electrical work by newly registered domestic installers needing to be qualified up to NVQ level 3 ??????

Of course none of the 'training providers' who are willing to take ££££'s for these courses have any mention of this on their websites - Can any of you boys in the know shed some light on this? I have read on three different websites conflicting stories about the Jan 1st deadline being extended indefinitely/ till March 2012/ till December 2012 ....... Does anybody know whats going on (Including the governing bodies?!)