Search the forum,

Discuss Just starting, want to know more! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jackgill1993

Hey,

Im a young 19 year old lad who's about to start working with a friend as an electricians mate, he has just been given a big project and wants me to be in his team

We have to first fix a large quantity of timber frame bungalows, I have no electrical background and am pretty much just trying to get ahead of the game and get a bit of knowledge towards the trade

Was just wondering, what are the main components of electrical first fix (on timber frame bungalows) and how do I do each bit?

Also, any advice or tips on what tools are useful or problems I may face would be appreciated, also any tips or tricks to make my work perfect, I plan to impress!

Thanks

Always run out a little more cable then you anticipate or have measured you need, better off throwing away 15p of cable then coming up short and having a useless length, your boss definitely wont be impressed with unnecessary wastage.

Save yourself some time and get a decent pair of automatic cable strippers, they eat twin and earth cable for dinner and make stripping and dressing cable a doddle.

Think and think again before terminating any cable if you are asked to, however seeing as you have no electrical background at all, you will only be doing the donkey work at this stage, pulling cable, drilling back boxes, tacking cable clips etc, do it all with a smile on your face and always offer to make cups of tea.

Do yourself a favour if you plan on staying in the trade and sign yourself on to a college course, read books, watch videos, read up on basic electrical information. Understand the difference between volts, amps, watts etc and learn ohm's law. It's very easy.