Currently reading:
RCBO's

Discuss RCBO's in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

circles

I may be asking some very stupid questions from time to time and this is probably one of them. But anyway my background is in electronics and not electrical work so I have zero knowledge of the correct terminology for many electrical items, nor do I have much knowledge with regards to current regulations.
Anyway to my question about about RCBO's, does any manufacturer produce an RCBO that you can push into the very old Bakelite fuse box sockets? (Not sure what the correct term for those are) You'd think that with a modern type consumer box with an RCD there wouldn't be such a great need for individual RCBO's, as fitting an rcd in series with another one has an effect on how fast the rcd trips. However, I would have thought that there would be a fairly large need for push in RCBO's as those old fuse boxes aren't protected by RCD's at all, yet they are still found in many homes.
Anyway, if they are being produced, could someone please point me in that direction? Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Answer to that Q is no! none at all...! all you can get is Push in MCB made by wylex and GE

your answer to RCBO and RCD question about inline etc is this...! you dont fit a RCBO when a RCD is already fitted..! and truthfully i can see RCBO becoming more popular as time goes on and price comes down as a dual RCD has potenially 5 circuits it can trip were as a RCBO has 1.... im fitting a 8 way box soon with 8 RCBO inside it!

The old Wylex for example the 3036 board had rewireable fuses and you are able to get the plug in MCB to convert these fuses to MCB.
AFAIK there have never been convertable plug in RCBO's or RCD for these boards.