Currently reading:
New career as an electrician - advice needed please

Discuss New career as an electrician - advice needed please in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Joeacox

Hi all, I am a 28 yr old who has decided a career change. I currently work as a software technician/support tech in an office. I am fed up of been sat at my desk listening and making calls when my interest is being an electrician.

The advice I would like is on the following.
am I too old to start out as a new electrician?

i have been contacted to do a domestic installation course with British Gas. It's a 5-6 week containing the following -

· EAL Level 2 Domestic Electrical Installer Scheme
· City & Guilds 2382-12 17th Edition Wiring Regulations
· City & Guilds 2392-10 Fundamental Inspection, Testing and Initial Verification of Electrical Installations
· City & Guilds Accredited Basic Electrical Skills

Does the above course sound good to go with for £3995 inc vat - to start with?

I am interested in domestic installation to start with and further down the line i would like to move into renewable energy in domestic/comercial buldings have a degree in environmental management as well that got me interested in the renewable side.

i am slightly colour blind - this has only effected me when doing certain Ishihara test. I can clearly distinguish between colours with no problems. Would I have to declare this and would it affect me down the line?

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks for taking the time to read!

Joe

When i started my apprentership i had to do an eye-test so im guessing you should get one done - don't want any fatal mistakes further down the line.

I don't like that price, infact it disgusts me - but i won't go into reasons for this.

Good luck.

You could probably go down the part time college route which is a more accepted route with forum members on here for half of the figure you stated. Not sure on the new C&G codes now though.

Hi joe