Search the forum,

Discuss Newbie Here in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

dp3

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm Dave From Hull, I'm an IT Tech by trade so know a small amount about electrics. I'm a bit of a general DIY'er so hope its okay been singed up here as it seems like mostly budding and established sparkys from what I've read in other intros.

I have just purchased my first house and since as i wont be moving in yet i want to get big jobs out the way first one being a new consumer unit (currently have an old bakelite one) and adding extra sockets - as i'm a firm believer you can never have to many (within reason of course).

Hoping i can get some honest advice here and get pointed in the right direction and will try and chip in where i can.

Thanks,

Dave

Hello all, I'm Dave From Hull, I'm an IT Tech by trade so know a small amount about electrics. I'm a bit of a general DIY'er so hope its okay been singed up here as it seems like mostly budding and established sparkys from what I've read in other intros.

I have just purchased my first house and since as i wont be moving in yet i want to get big jobs out the way first one being a new consumer unit (currently have an old bakelite one) and adding extra sockets - as i'm a firm believer you can never have to many (within reason of course).

Hoping i can get some honest advice here and get pointed in the right direction and will try and chip in where i can.

Thanks,

Dave

for the new CU, any work in a bathroom, and any extra circuits, you should by rights have the work notified to your LABC. this costs around £300 if you are not in a scam ( like niceic,elecsa etc.). if you're cometent to do it and have the test equipment with the knowledge to use it, you could self-certify and worry about the LABC if and when you come to sell.