Discuss 220 volt supply problems in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys. I was a commissiong technician before I retired. Hardware and software industrial automation. Miss the work but not the endless travel/ airports hotels etc. Those that know, know what I mean.
I retired to Thailand 220 - 240 volt single phase 50 hertz supply here. Im used to 3 phase or 24 volt control supplies.
I need a sanity check/ advice to pass on please.
The amount of shops being supplied from the one government source exceeds the supply. So at 6pm when the lights all come on the guys at the end cant run a microwave and lights flicker.
Im thinking of installing equipment to step the voltage down from variable to steady 110 volts ac and change all the fitttngs to run on 110 volts as USA equipment. I cant think of any reason why not, any thoughts or recommendations welcome.
The supply company will not be improving the system for some time. Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum.

Bear in mind you're still going to need to draw the same amount of overall power though.

A simple transformer won’t help you.
as the input voltage decreases, the output voltage decreases by the same proportion
one way to do it might be with a ups,it will take a lower voltage at times and keep the output stable at nominal voltage.
however, assuming your load is constant, if the voltage in were to drop by 50% the current will double so you could end up making a bad situation worse.

A simple transformer won’t help you.
as the input voltage decreases, the output voltage decreases by the same proportion
one way to do it might be with a ups,it will take a lower voltage at times and keep the output stable at nominal voltage.
however, assuming your load is constant, if the voltage in were to drop by 50% the current will double so you could end up making a bad situation worse.