Discuss Am i allowed to Install an Electric Gate? in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
This Might seem like a bit of an obvious question but just wanted to make sure, a friend of mine has his own metal works company and he has recently taken on a project to make and install some electric gates to a property, he has asked me if i am able to assist with the installation electrically, I am currently a qualified electrical engineer working in industrial and commercial premises, I do not currently have the 18th edition qualification, nor am i registered with a governing body. i am more than competent and confident to wire up the gate but would i be allowed to do this legally? I'm assuming the only section I would not be allowed to do would be to take a feed from the DB?

Any advice is appreciated,

Cheers
Dan

There may be conditions with any warranty claim against the gate control manufacturers that it must be installed by someone with BS7671.

I don’t know personally what would be required, but is there a short course available for people that install alarms, cctv, etc that need a supply.

I do know that the one and only time I installed the power for a lifting access barrier, it only needed a 6A supply and could have run off a plugtop.

Hi - as you’ll know, all new installations need to be done to latest BS7671 for design, installation test and certIfication. And if a new circuit is needed then a Part P approval would also be required.

As Ioz says, the installation as a whole needs to be safe. Perhaps have a read of the HSE article as a starter. Its not like running a cable to a shed, just saying.

https://www.hse.gov.uk/work-equipment-machinery/powered-gates/index.htm