Search the forum,

Discuss EICR advice in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

peterh

-
Reaction score
A bit of advice/opinion please.
A local cricket club has had a EICR done at the request of their insurers. The secretary is a friend and asked me to quote but as it Three Phase which I have little experience of I'll give it a miss. However having seen the report I'm puzzled by a couple of C1's - 'No RCD protection on shower circuits' and 'No fire hoods on recessed luminaires'. The clubhouse is about 20 years old and effectively a commercial premises so I thought latest regs/Part P would not apply. The firm that did the EICR is quoting for the work but I don't want the club to incur unnecessary costs. Have I misunderstood?

A Install cant fail a EICR just because it doesnt meet currant regulations, However the regulations apply to all installs and not just domestic properties. Code 1 - Imediate danger present, This is things like exposed live parts Etc. as for code one on no RCD on a shower.. If it purley because the is no RCD present then I feel code 1 is not nessessary.. No rcd but access to live parts then yes a code 1. As for no fire hoods on lighting.. is there insulation sitting on top of the lights or not? Out of curiuosity how much have they quoted to deem the instalation satasfactory.

A bit of advice/opinion please.
A local cricket club has had a EICR done at the request of their insurers. The secretary is a friend and asked me to quote but as it Three Phase which I have little experience of I'll give it a miss. However having seen the report I'm puzzled by a couple of C1's - 'No RCD protection on shower circuits' and 'No fire hoods on recessed luminaires'. The clubhouse is about 20 years old and effectively a commercial premises so I thought latest regs/Part P would not apply. The firm that did the EICR is quoting for the work but I don't want the club to incur unnecessary costs. Have I misunderstood?