Discuss Find a Fault on a Ring Final Circuit in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am not a qualified electrician, I was employed as an electrician after my MoD electronics apprenticeship but that was 30 odd years ago. So I have basic skills and an insulation tester with a low resistance capability.
This is an old installation with a new cu installed in 2014 (EICR etc done). Some cable is the stranded red and black t&e, some solid red and black t&e, some blue and brown.

I recently replaced a 2 gang socket with a usb version and moved the old 2 gang to replace a faulty one. 2 days later the rcd and elcb tripped.

I inspected the 2 sockets and cables but couldn't see any issues.
I disconnected the usb sockets and connected the cables with choc blocks.
r1 = 0.5 ohms, r2 = 0.87 ohms rn = 0.50 ohms.
I have no idea of the route of the cables for the final ring circuit so made it into 1 radial and tested low ohms at each socket and that allowed me to roughly work out the order of sockets on the final ring.

I disconnected the ends of the final ring and get a low insulation reading between line and cpc (less than 1M Ohms). I split the ring and now get low insulation readings on both legs! I checked my insulation tester on another circuit and that shows good readings, so I believe tester is OK.

So any ideas how I can find where the issue/s are?
Thanks

Are you absolutely sure there are no loads on the circuit? Not always practicle to remove them all.

If its an RCD tripping you have an L-N imbalance so quick LN-E IR @ 250V will give you a good idea as to the state of the cable without damaging connected loads.

A low reading here indicates a L-E or N-E

Then you need to be identifying all accessories on the circuit and inspecting them for loose wires, including the fuse board.