Discuss Having difficulties with a 2 gang dimmer in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Steve237

Evening chaps,

Yes - clearly from the title of the thread I'm not a qualified electrician...

I'd like to think I'm not daft, however!

The situation is this; I've recently moved house and got a bit carried away on the chrome switch/sockets front. Fitted over 15 in the house without any difficulty until now...

The last job was the kitchen/dining/conservatory area with a couple of 2 gang switches which I decided to change to dimmers. To fit with the rest of the house, I went for the GET Ultimate flat plate variety. Now, these swines weren't the easiest to fit, probably because I am in a 5 year old house and the mounting boxes are too shallow. But with the 2 gang touch dimmers (see here: GET Ultimate Screwless Flat Plate Electronic Dimmers), it's seems an impossible task, even after trimming all the wires back to the point I can only just connect them.

I am left with a switch that will not fall flat against the wall (only about 3mm gap, but it's noticable). I actually have 3 questions which I hope you knowledgable lot will be able to advise me on.

1) What's the easiest way to get this flat on the wall. I have read online about extension rings that increase the depth of the box. If these exist, will I find them in B&Q? What are they made of? Seeing as I only have 3mm to fill, should I try and fabricate something myself (elastic bands??) or do I need a deeper mounting box? But if I do - will it fit in my 5 year old wall in my house?

2) I think I might have wired it up wrong. When a light is on, the middle button glows red. When it's off, it glows green. I wired the live to 'common' and the neutral to L1. Have I got it the wrong way round?