Search the forum,

Discuss Potentially lethal situation? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

V

Van_Sloth

Hi!
First of, I'm new to this forum, so pardon me if this isn't the right place to post at.

Now here's the problem:
I'm a musician with a home studio. I currently have my laptop charger in one socket and my tube amplifier in another one. If I turn on the amplifier while the computer is still plugged in, the laptop starts vibrating slightly(or atleast that's the sensation I get while touching it), and if I touch the side of the laptop screen, I get a slight shock!

I have no idea why this happens, and I'm afraid it might be very dangerous.
Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks.

Is your laptop plastic or metal construction?

The vibrating sensation is probably not actual vibration, but the sensation of a small amount of AC leakage current passing through your hand. It is most noticeable if you stroke a metal surface lightly, such as the body of an Apple laptop. In this way, your body can detect very tiny, harmless currents. Laptop chargers themselves produce leakage current which can sometimes be felt in this way, but it is impossible to distinguish between this and a dangerously live appliance casing, without proper testing.

1. Are these two devices connected to a grounded (3-pin or Schuko) outlet?
2. As per Marvo, is it a metal bodied laptop with a 3-pin power cable on the charger?
3. Is it a vintage amplifier?
4. Do you know what type of grounding your studio's electrical supply uses?