Search the forum,

Discuss Security Systems Electrical Supply. Can i do it? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Phillio

Hello,

Just looking for a bit of advice guys. I work for a Security company installing road blockers, automatic gates etc. I hold some electrical quals, C&G 2330 Levels 2&3, NVQ3 Electrical Installation and 17th Edition, which I studied for as my ressetlement from the Forces. I did work for a short period in a 'trainee' position alongside an experienced spark, on both industrial and domestic works, but then moved on to working in the sector I am now. I'm not sure I would class myself as a fully qualified Electrician, as I got my certificates the easy way by paying for a fast tracked course, and didn't have to endure an apprenticeship. However, I do believe I am competent and have built up enough experience over the years to enable me to work safely and effectively.
My question is to do with the supplies we need to the equipment we install. Which vary from 6amp single phase supplies, to a 3 phase 20 amp supplies. 9 times out of 10 we are on a large industrial site, with either onsite maintenance electricians, or a new build where the sparks are working anyway, in these cases the power is pulled in to our equipment, terminated, and tested. We then only have to deal with the control side of it.
Recently however we have been attending more sites where we are asked to pull in our own power and terminate. I am the only engineer within our company who holds any sort of electrical qualification, and with any experience of working on the electrical installation side (although very little). Our company is not part of any awarding body NICEIC etc.

1) Would I be right in thinking that with the qualifications I hold, and on an Industrial or Commercial site, I could add a new circuit to a customers board, and take a supply to my equipment and terminate it?