Discuss Why doesn't my light turn on? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Full disclaimer, absolute novice and I'm just a homeowner trying to fix my light fixture (location is Canada). If this is the wrong forum, please let me know. I can provide more information as needed:

My condo unit has a lighting fixture in my bedroom from a previous tenant and it’s never worked. I opened the ceiling, and I noticed the black and yellow wires weren’t connected WhatsApp Image 2021-11-22 at 12.24.50 PM (1).jpeg

I tested the yellow wire with a contact voltage tester (KLEIN Non-Contact Voltage Tester, fully functioning), and it showed it was live…. this is where it got weird. I flipped the light switch for the light fixture, and I expected the NCVT to show it wasn’t live, but it was still red. It was red regardless of which way I flipped the switch. At this point, power was still running through the yellow wire.

Then I turned off the circuit breaker, and I connected the black and yellow wire. I flipped the breaker back on, but still no light (with the lightbulb in). I tried the regular light switch…still no power. Weird. I then used the NCVT again but this time it was GREEN regardless of which way I flipped the switch. Basically, there’s no power into the yellow wire at all now, and the light obviously still doesn’t work.

I have no clue what’s going. My kitchen light has the same set-up here (see below). And you can see that the black is indeed connected to the yellow.
Kitchen.jpeg

Am I connecting the wires in the bedroom lighting fixture wrong (is there a certain way to twist; do I need to strip the wires again)? Or is there just no power in that line (which is weird because it clearly was live before I turned off the circuit breaker).

Please offer me some advice or next steps. I can provide more info if needed, but its driving me crazy