Discuss ADE Optima Compact in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Locrieth

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi All, New to this forum and I've been looking around to find some information about my alarm. I've lived in my house for 6 years and I've never had any problems with my alarm, but over the weekend I had a power cut during the night. I think the alarm went off, but in the morning the power was back on and the alarm had 3 red lights on 1 in "zone 1", 1 on the "Power" and the 3rd one was on the "Tamper". So I thought right just put the code back in to set it the next morning, but the key pad seems to be totally unresponsive. Any ideas how to get it functioning again? I tried unscrewing the bottom plastic panel to have a look and see if there was any reset buttons, but was presented with a mass of wires! I'm no electrician so I just screwed the panel back on and started having a look on the net, that's when I found this forum. Thanks in advance for your help. Regards, Locrieth

i'd first suspect that the battery is kaput. generally their lifespan is 5 -6 years. the panel may well have a blown fuse or need a reset. i'm provisionally down in stoke this friday afternoon if you want me to call and have a look at it.

The panel sounds like its locked, due to battery being faulty.
Will need resetting, as below, new user code will be 0123, and eng code will be 9999

To default to factory settings:
1. Power down panel.
2. Remove wiring from SET output and PA input.
3. Fit shorting wire between SET and left-hand PA terminal.
4. Power up.
5. Wait for alarm to start.
6. Power down panel and then restore original wiring.