Discuss Light wiring issue - Looking for advice in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Replaced a ceiling light yesterday (I'm a novice but confident with basic electrical work). All was well and working, so I turned off the lights and only at night realised the lighting circuit had tripped. Removed the new light today, assuming there was some issue with the wiring - some of the wires did look fairly worked. I cut it back and rewired exactly as it was before, but still the same issue - MCB for the lighting circuit is tripping.

It's an unusual set up, to my eyes at least, so I can't make heads nor tails of what's going on. Three twin and earth cables: lives going into a wago connector, 3 earths combined, 2 neutrals combined, and one neutral sheathed as a live going into live. This is the original set up before I trimmed it back:

IMG_2075.jpg

The previous owner was a competent electrician as I understand it, so would assume all is in order - but would like to see what you all think, and any suggestions on what the issue might be?

Another picture of the original wires which I cut off:

IMG_2077.jpg

Thanks!

This has been an extremely common way for ceiling lights to be wired in the UK, from the mid 60s, and is still often used in houses with 'basic' wiring. Recently there has been a move away from it, with the rise of electronic switches and badly designed imported light fittings.
What makes you think the tripping MCB is anything to do with the wiring at this fitting?
Does the MCB trip if the switch associated with this wiring is off?

This has been an extremely common way for ceiling lights to be wired in the UK, from the mid 60s, and is still often used in houses with 'basic' wiring. Recently there has been a move away from it, with the rise of electronic switches and badly designed imported light fittings.
What makes you think the tripping MCB is anything to do with the wiring at this fitting?