Discuss New to the forum in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi There, I'm new to the forum and currently in training. I'll probably get a bashing on here as I'm taking the short route to qualification. I have a bachelors degree in Electronic and Electrical Engineering, I was a control systems engineer for 7 years, hands on commissioning in the field out in the UAE on well heads. I then worked for a consultancy for 3 years specifying control systems in the Water industry and for the last 10 years have been a project manager for a fire and security systems company running installations on construction sites.

I've decided I want to set up on my own as an electrician and I'm happy doing domestic work only, I've seen and had enough of the contracting business, its cut throat, contractual and everyone is out to shaft everyone. If I do go contracting i'll happily install fire and security systems but I know without the 3 years as an apprentice and all the training I wouldn't be confident or competent to work in industrial/commercial systems.

I'm going to do my Part P, 17th Ed, and City and Guilds 2394 Initial and 2395 Periodic. I'm already confident working on domestic systems but want to get the papers and more training so I can go out and work on systems and sign them off.

I can see why you guys get frustrated with Electrical Trainee courses, I have brought my regs books, on site guide, part P book and I'm picking through them in my own time before I even get on the short courses. I want to know them inside out before I go on a course. I have to agree with you because even with my electrical/electronic background there is still a shed load to learn even as a mere DI. Surely people cant just be going on Electrical Trainee courses and going out working.

Anyway just to say I am a conscientious person, know my limits and won't touch anything that I am no confident with.