Discuss Settle an argument please. in the Electric Vehicles Advice Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Thanks James. I do have a background in electrical work. That was design and prototyping of switchgear as well as similar with battery backup systems for the rail, telecom and oil industries. All high current but often DC stuff. It has been a long time since I studied the regs (16th edition) and have never worked in the home arena having switched to working in IT in the late 90s. So while my knowledge is sound, I am very out of date and unfamiliar with how things are done in the home environment. Having said that, cable ratings were always a very important part of the design process as I am sure you know. A simple cock up in the choice of cable insulation could have cost us dearly.
Lets face it, cables have been pretty much the same for the last 30 years at least.
copper has not magically reduced is resistance so it generates the same amount of heat as it always has.
some improvements in insulation materials have happened but are not massive and may well not affect you in this circumstance.
in my opinion, the inspecting engineer has fcucked up either by human error or poor training.
you have a great argument that is backed by the reg's to have it repaired correctly at his expense in my opinion.

I wasn’t at home during the inspection, SWMBO was and paid for the extra work.

I’ve taken a pic, but the pointless bit of plastic seems to have fallen off. It is inside the house so now danger of getting rained on. Having said that, as is often the case the architect slapped the bathroom directly above. Sometimes architects need a kid hard kick in the love spuds.

Jesus christ, I'd say you have a case for pressing a charge of criminal damage there!

Well probably not since SWMBO presumably gave permission for the "repair". So although the work was clearly ... err "substandard", it wouldn't be criminal damage.