Discuss 3 Phase Supply in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

PickupSticks

Before I start I am not an electrician and will be getting a qualified electrician in to carry out any work!

We lease a small office building in which is housed a number of computers. We currently have a three phase supply which
is on a sub meter from our landlords supply... Our supply is fused from the landlords main supply at 60A per Phase.

Our current load is around 40A per phase, about 15A of this is A/C load and a small amount lighting etc the rest is computers sitting behind a UPS which balances the load across all three phases.

We have the infrastructure and panel boards already in place capable of handling upto 400A..

We expect our load to grow to approximately 275kva within the next ten years..

I have a quote from Western Power for upgrading to a 275kva supply at £43,500... This is out of our budget at the moment and so we are looking at taking a smaller supply and then getting this upgraded at a later date or just renting another premesis.

Questions:
1) If we take a supply over 110kva I understand we have to move to half hourly metering. Our load is pretty much constant throughout the day/year as the equipment is running all day/year. I am aware it depends what plan we are on but generally speaking will half hourly metering work out cheaper
or more expensive for us?
2) Can I confirm that if we went for a larger supply despite being on a half hourly meter there would be no CRC charges as we would be needing to draw ~ 600kw constant usage to get anywhere near the 6Mwh/year limit..?
3) Could I keep my exsisting supply from my landlord to run A/C & lighting etc and just connect the new supply directly to our UPS? I think there are issues with having two supplies two one building..?