Discuss Look! A noob! in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

bum4evr

DIY
Reaction score
Heya all, newbie here. I can figure out some electrical issues I've had in the past, but I'm getting old and can't even remember what those colored plastic thingies you twist onto 2 wires to hold them together are called, so I just call them "twisties".

So anyhow, life started for me back in 1969, peanut crops were doing well, and my father owned a green cane that he bought from a mailman in Boston, now that mailman drove a Buick that only had one... oops, just read the TLDR part, I will get to the point. I have some lights and appliances that go off when others are turned on but requires a bit more explanation, can you point me to the right forum?

Thanks a lot. :)
Sean G

Probably wired in series. Welcome to the forum. If life started in 1969 I don't think you can claim to be old on this forum. You're just having a midlife crisis.
nah, he's used the wrong size twisties.

Welcome bum4evr (I was one-1 week- before I had a shave this morning )
If some appliances are fancy ,they may just shut off.
Do you have incandescent lights (Hot ones) that just go dim when the weirdness starts ?

someone once referred to them as screwnuts. conjures up images of your balls being put in a vice.

Thanks for all the welcomes.

Ok I will post problem here. Me and girl are renting a room, but it's actually a detached 2 car garage. We have fridge, microwave, propane stove but we go in house for bathroom needs. There is only one outlet by the door so the terms "extension cord" and "power strip" are heard often around here. Space heater or AC is impossible because it will trip the breaker, but I already guessed that when I saw lights dim when fridge compressor comes on.