Discuss Prices for long standing cust and little jobs in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, I have been trading for over 10 years but am having trouble with the people who gave me the chance long ago. I always did the small jobs and charged very little but prices have gone up and my time is more valuable now and am still asked for the same jobs and rate expected.

Think I am too soft but don't know how or waht to do. Anyone else have same issue?

Most reasonable people will understand a price increase in Jan or April.

I would right a generic letter and make it look like it is not aimed at anyone in particular and send it out. Hopefully then the client will not take it personally and accept that prices go up.

Basic inflation means you are making less and less each yr on their jobs but even loyalty needs to have a balance, I can't see anyone not understanding prices need to rise with inflation even those that gave you that foot up.
I am sure if you popped 10% on your labour and then had a chat with them that they have had the same rates for 10yrs and express it was down to there help in jump starting your business as the reason why you have cut them a very good deal for so long but inflation means you can no longer maintain the same rates, I am sure anyone would understand that.

Edit - I would also agree with essex approach of a generic letter, more professional and less personal but that depends on your customer relationship here, sometimes that personal touch is more appreciated but your call on that.

Do they expect diesel to cost the same as it did 10 years ago? Or the price of a pint?

However. IF all your other jobs pay you substantial wages, then doing the odd little job on mates rates to keep them happy, you might get the odd favour from them too