Discuss Private Jobs whilst Employed in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Looking for a bit of advice from the wider audience / those who may have done similar before.

I entered the game a bit later / in a non conventional manner, so deciding what I can and can't do isn't as black and white as if I'd done apprenticeship route. I work as a Maintenance Electrician in commerical (public sector sort of buildings). As usual, colleagues / staff at the locations I work sometimes ask about electrical work at home. I generally try and deaf it out, as I don't really want to get involved.

However more and more, I get asked - and it's starting to seem like it may be worth my while looking into doing this. For example, just had a conversation with a lady who is struggling to pin an electrician down: to repair a light that's fallen out the ceilong, wire in her new cooker to an existing CCU, replace an IP rated socket and tidy up some loose t&e. She's more than happy to pay well over £300 for this - and is more than happy for me to do a day at the weekend or evening on it. I've not had a look but I've seen photos - on the front of it it all seems very reasonable.

However being me, I want to do things "properly". I've looked at the relevant PLI and Indeminity insurance - which all seems very affordable. I have an accountant in the family so no problems with that side of things. Because a lot of my learning was self-funded, I of course have an MFT (I bought a little Di-Log a few years ago but it got me through my 2391) - it needs recalibration but again, this cost and that of the insurance would be covered just by doing this one job. I haven't yet been asked to do anything notifiable. So not considering 'scam' membership at present - the requests I've had are usually typical householder things like replacing lights, installing new appliance to an FCU, the odd addition of an extra socket or light in the attic etc.