Discuss Rcd tripping, 77v on earth bar in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Icarus

-
Reaction score
So to start off with i’ll tell you i’m a young electrician, 23, I am qualified but obviously will always be learning.

Was carrying out an eicr early last week. During the eicr I went to disconnect what I thought were the earths for the (switched off) kitchen ring, as they were in the corresponding terminal. I felt a slight tingle and thought that can’t be right. It turned out that it was the earths for one of the lighting circuits and the smoke alarms and there was 77v between the disconnected lighting cpc and earth bar and 20ish volts between the disconnected smoke alarm cpc and earth bar. Surely this can’t be right? The insulation resistance values are all good. I also done a bit of experimenting with disconnecting the main earth with the power on (please don’t crucify me) and with all cpc’s connected there is again 77v between the earth and neutral bars, and earth bar and main earth. The disconned main earth to neutral bar shows continuity (tn-c-s). Is this an issue or is it just my bad practice of not switching the full board off that’s made me notice? Should also say I tried the same with the shower cpc, same thing was happening but at a lower voltage (still increasing as circuits added though)

Another thing is the voltage appears to gradually increases as you turn each circuit on (the lighting circuit is the last circuit). I figured this this could be earth leakage through appliances etc? With the main earth connected and all cpcs connected everythings as it should be voltage and continuity wise.