Discuss Bathroom fans in zone 1 in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone, new member here. I was an electrician some years ago but only qualified to 16th edition regs so very rusty. My question is can anyone point out to me where in the 18th edition regs it says you cannot install 230v extractor fans in zone one of a bathroom?

The reason I'm asking is I recently had an electrician in to do an electrical safety certificate as I'm selling my house. One of the faults he flagged up was a 230v fan in zone 1 with no RCD protection. I have since replaced this fan with a new one rated at IP34 and replaced the MCB with an RCD.

When I rang the electrician to come and do a re-test he said he still won't pass it as it's not 12v.

I've spoken to other electricians and had different answers as to whether the fan needs to be 12v or not, so I borrowed a copy of the 18th regs to look myself. The only thing I can find is reg 701.55 which states that as long as the fan is suitable for installation in zone 1 according to instructions then 230v is ok. Unfortunately the instructions that came with the fan don't mention any zones, just that the fan is IP34.

Sorry for the long post, but I'm just trying to get a definitive answer before I spend any more money on another fan.

Thanks

Reactions: DPG
He needs to read his regulations. Don't have mine to hand, but it will be in 701.5 ish IIRC.
This is what can go in zone 1 (wrt fans)
  • Other than switches and controls of extractor fans specifically designed for use in this zone, and cord operated switches, only SELV switches are permitted.
  • Extractor fans designed for use in this zone must be at least IPX4 , or IPX5, where water jets are likely to be used for cleaning purposes.