Discuss Need kitchen undercabinet lighting controlled by a wall switch in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

alekdavis

DIY
Reaction score
I am not an electrician, so have a hard time figuring out what to do for kitchen undercabinet lighting (for a brand new kitchen). My requirements are:

1. Hard wired (can be plugged into an outlet of a circuit).
2. Controlled by a wall switch.
3. Dimmable (via a wall switch) would be nice but not a must.
4. Not very expensive (under, $300 or so).
5. Minimal visible wiring.
6. Not too bulky.
7. Reliable (not break due to moisture from, say, electric kettle).

I am flexible on the type (can be puck, strip, or whatever). I assume LED would make more sense, but am open to alternatives. Since it will be an IKEA kitchen, I looked into IKEA lighting, but I was told that they must be controlled by a remote, and I want a fixed wall switch. Read through half dozen articles, looked at dozens of products and still cannot figure out which would work for my case. At this time I do not need the actual lights, but my electricians need to know what they will be, so that they can prewire for the right type, and I am totally lost. Any suggestions for the products? Thanks.

Welcome to the forum mate.
Have you thought of using a wireless switch, like Quinetic, for the light? Then you only need a supply to the light. No wire to the switch/dimmer.

I have the IKEA Omlopp lights (UK) under cabinets in the kitchen, hardwired and controlled by a switch-it all works fine. I think the remote just talks to the driver for on/off and dimming.

I'm not sure if they can be dimmed from the switch. You might find you don't need dimming though - we just have different combinations of lights that can be on or off for different levels.

You don’t need anything fancy:

Dimmable Led tape for each cabinet
Appropriate profile to put led tape in if desired
Dimmable led driver at same voltage as tape
Dimmer Switch to driver
Cable to ot