Electrical2Go - Online Electrical Supplier
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss New Member with some electrical experience in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi,

I've just joined the forum, I'm not a qualified electrician, however, I am a mechanical engineer and did work in a maintenance department of a factory during my apprenticeship - I also worked on power boats and had to do some electrical work as part of that job (many years ago).

I've renovated a few houses now and worked with an electrician who was happy for me to run cables for sockets etc and he'd check connections, test etc.

I'm currently working on a cinema room, with questions around lighting (just posted in the lighting forums).

Interesting fact (well not really) I once had to repair a socket after a home extension by the builders electrician..... now we are a little concerned about the rest of the work they did...

Wetroom Store - Network Wetroom Suppliers

telectrix

-
Mentor
Arms
Esteemed
builder's electrician is probably the builder and a labourer ( the labourer being more competent than the builder for whatever that's worth).

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
builder's electrician is probably the builder and a labourer ( the labourer being more competent than the builder for whatever that's worth).
Ha ha, you'd think so right? In reality the builder hired a qualified electrician who then was too busy to do the work, so had his trainee do it all, but there was a few issues - one with the dodgy socket, where the live cable was touching the screw inside, tripping the breaker - then one socket front was over tightened, so I couldn't plug into it and had to replace the plastic lugs inside as they had broken and it was hanging off the wall!