Discuss Hello all, new member, new trainee, (hopefully) new friend! ;-) in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Matt E

Hello everyone,

My name's Matt, 33 years young (for a sparky, so I've heard :innocent: ), married with a tear away 5 year old.

I've been an Optical Lab Technician for 15 years, 13 of those as a Lab Manager. At 33, I have decided that I've built my fair share of specs and so I have finally plucked up the courage to make the move to what I believe a far more rewarding career, in salary, experiences and satisfaction.

I'm very new to this Industry with my only experience being DIY and even that limited to accessories and light fittings.

I have just begun a correspondence based college course where I study at home from textbook and online assignments. And have 10, 1 week practical sessions in the college/workshop. This is a full scope course and also covers Solar PV.

As a trainee I will obviously be spending most of my time on this forum in the trainee section looking for advice and motivation to keep me going.

A large part of why I'm here is to hear and share others motivations and frustrations as the majority of the people here will know what it takes to become an electrician and how much information and knowledge is required.

As nice as it is to have friends and family around me and tell me how well I am doing and how good I will be, I don't really need that. I know that sounds silly and perhaps rude (to which I apologise) but what I really need is to be told that it's not easy and that I have to keep at it at all times. Don't stop and don't lose focus. That's what I'm hoping for from this forum.

I hope my ramblings make sense, I hope to enjoy my time here on the forum and who knows, maybe someday I will meet some of you guys and gals in person!

Thanks for reading (I won't be offended if you nodded off).

Matt.

Last edited by a moderator: