Discuss Saying "Hello, this is me". in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Ey oop! :D

I've been lurking for a while now and thought it was high time I introduced myself and outlined my plans... retraining for a career as an electrician. No throwing things at the back, please! :p

I've been a sound engineer in the film industry for nearly 15 years but the freelance world in this line of work is very hit & miss... more miss than hit for a lot of us in recent years. :( I've thought about retraining as a sparky for a while now and have decided that the time is right. I'm sick to the back teeth of doing a s*** job in a factory to pay the bills whilst vainly waiting for film work to come along.

With that in mind, I've decided to enroll at a training college to set me off on my way to becoming an electrician. I've been looking at PASS Training in Stockton for my courses but don't worry, I do not believe for one second that I'll be an electrician after a few weeks on an intensive course. (I'm a couple of years short of 40 with a young family to support so an apprenticeship and/or long college course really isn't a viable option for me). I aim to get my Domestic Installer/Part P qualifications under my belt and possibly PAT testing too (finances permitting) and then begin to learn how to become an electrician.

A good mate of mine is a builder and he's said once I've got my Part P he'll give me all the work he can, which is great. Especially as it will not only get me earning some money but I'll be gaining valuable experience too.