Discuss Tax code/ p60 problem for an employed spark in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Southern Spark

First off, im not sure if this is the right place to post this thread, so apologies if it is not.
I am facing a bit of a dilemma, and I am not really sure what to do. I am an employed electrician, I have been with my current employer for 3 1/2 years, and whilst I love the type of work I do (I do industrial work and a lot of very high end houses) my bosses lack of organisation is really getting to me.
I keep on telling him that I need my p60, because I claim child tax credits and housing benefit I need to prove how much I earn. He keeps dragging his heels over it and just making snide comments, such as 'keep going on about it I will give you your p45'. I have told him that if I do not have it soon I will lose my house, anything im entitled to and have to pay back everything I claimed last year. (im not sure all of this is true, i just thought that if i said this he might pull his finger out). I keep phoning hm revenue and customs to sort it out, but they tell me they cant enforce anything. The conversation I had today went briefly like this:

Me: I need my p60 to claim back all the excess tax I paid last year.

Them: Why do you think you have paid too much tax?

Me: because I have been on the wrong tax code for 3 1/2 years and no matter how many times I tell hmrc and my boss/ his accountant it never gets changed.

them: well how much do you earn a year?

Me: I am not too sure to be honest, because i have not received a payslip since about October 2010.

The guy on the phone thought my predicament was ridiculous but said there is not much he can do about it. after a while he said he will send me a letter saying how much tax I have over paid, closely followed by a cheque, which i was grateful for, but said there is nothing more ha can do.