Discuss Apprentice in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
It has been sugested to me in another thread that I might not be suitable to train an apprentice.Just wondered what opinions are?

Some Background. I am a Electrical Trainee, been doing this for about 2.5 years. When I started I very quickly realised that I could get a lot more work completed if I had a helping hand. I have had a couple of different lads help on odd jobs here and there. About a 18 months ago this lad started helping me on a more regular basis. Now the local colleges round here take on the lads without them doing official apprenticeships. The lad who helps me told me that only one on his course was on an apprenticeship.

My lad had help a spark out for about year before the spark changed to subbying and laid him off. The lad had no onsite experience for a year or so and then I had him help me. Now he has his last year to do where he has to do examples of jobs (with photos), the details of which we are waiting for. The college have found someone who will the do the commercial/ industrial type jobs. They are happy for the lad to do the rest with me.

The thing is, to do the last year he has to be employed as an apprentice. I dont really want to employ him but if I dont, he wont be able to finish his qualifications and will end up quitting. Maybe I am a soft touch but I will take him on so he can get his C&G qual.

So back to the original question, do you think I am suitable to train an apprentice, or should I show him the door and get help from someone else. This wouldnt be difficult, I get at least 4 phone calls/letters a month from lads looking for help/experience.

Interestingly the lad told me that a lot of the guys on his course quit to get non electrical jobs, and he only knows 2 that are still trying to finish

Just let me get this straight...