Discuss Does this look safe? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I inspect homes for safety as part of my job. I saw this junction box in a splash zone above a wash basin, it's next to a shower/steam unit supplying the control panel to that. Property has a very recent satisfactory EICR but I know not everything is inspected. I can't see how the wires from the bottom of this junction box can be properly sealed to keep water out if not both enclosed in one sheath. I didn't look to see if any gaps had been filled with silicone sealant or anything because I'm not an electrician or a DIYer so wouldn't know what I was checking for. Does it look acceptable to anybody who does know? Thanks

Attachments

• junction box.jpg
    9.7 KB · Views: 93
Last edited by a moderator:
I would not expect that to be compliant.
cables look poorly supported
junction box is unlikely to be securely fixed to the wall
ip rating of the box may have been compromised by the incorrect use of glands.

if you inspect homes for safety a part of your job and you have not been trained to spot potentially dangerous electrical equipment or installation methods,
surely your employer has a documented method of proving the electrical systems are safe.
the only way to be sure would in my opinion be to employ a qualified electrician to inspect, test and report their findings to you.

I would not expect that to be compliant.
cables look poorly supported
junction box is unlikely to be securely fixed to the wall
ip rating of the box may have been compromised by the incorrect use of glands.

if you inspect homes for safety a part of your job and you have not been trained to spot potentially dangerous electrical equipment or installation methods,
surely your employer has a documented method of proving the electrical systems are safe.
the only way to be sure would in my opinion be to employ a qualified electrician to inspect, test and report their findings to you.