Discuss Electrician on the oil rigs ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Does anyone on here know or work on the rigs give me advice on what qualifications and courses do i need to take to work on the rigs, and a website where i can find vacancies for jobs. I have been a fully qualified electrician for 1 year after completing a 4 year apprenticeship i dont know if you have to be approved aswell.

As Shankey says, Compex is a must. You will need water survival course too, can't remember what the course is actually called though. There is also a lot of competition for jobs on the rigs and its really a case of who you know.

As said,you may come up against the old experience issue,but don't give up,i shoot with a fella who went to work on the rigs tears ago,as a joiner!....standing joke is that we reckon he spent every shift in the canteen...playing cards with the stone-mason...:stooge_curly:

As said,you may come up against the old experience issue,but don't give up,i shoot with a fella who went to work on the rigs tears ago,as a joiner!....standing joke is that we reckon he spent every shift in the canteen...playing cards with the stone-mason...:stooge_curly:
ive been to one of the masons, its like being on the set of the game of thrones

Very few building/construction electricians will have the necessary experience to work on offshore rigs, with or without Compex registration. Unfortunately, i doubt very much that your year out of your time will be able to impress anyone. You will be in a completely industrial environment for both rig maintenance and installation work. What's more you'll need to have MV and generator experience. These rigs come with some very sophisticated and expensive systems that you'll need to be able to get your head round....