Discuss Ex Squadie, Newbie to yourf field!! in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

scotty497

Hi Guys,
I know this must be the same thing that all you sparkys have heard a million times before on this site but i am in serious need of some advice. I have just recently been made redundant from the Army due to cutbacks. unfortunatley my trade was a driver. I have my Cat C, C+E and Haz Mat 1,2,3 in and out of tanks licences. Unfortunatley for me i can't think of anything worse than driving all over the UK delivering packages for a living. I really wanted to do something more and Electrician seemed the best way ahead! I worked as a Roofer for 3 years (possibly a help to all those renewable energy solar panel fitters out there) before i joined up and during that time the Electricians on site were my mentors and the guys i looked up to. Although i have contacts in Scotland willing to help me out i am currently living in Beverley near Hull although am due to move to the Oxfordshire area around July. At present i have passed DEI and 17th Edition courses and before february i will have Inspection and Testing and Personal Appliance Testing (PAT Testing) under my belt. I have also completed the Health and Saftey Exam and the Part P section of DEI (Not a Quall i know) but hopefully a bonus. What im looking for is someone to help me out with experience. Any kind will do. Willing to work for very minimum wages (possibly Free) depending on what type of work you offer!! Anyone out there looking for a Grafter with the willingness to learn or anyone just looking to offer advice to a newbie just starting out would be greatley appreciated!!

Many Thanks

Scotty

Last edited by a moderator:
Cheers Gaz,

A Little advice about how you guys got to where you are wouldn't go a miss though!! Just wish i had done an apprentiship when i had the chance.

Thanks for the boost though!!

Wow,