Discuss Newbie Insulation Resistance question in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

DaveS

-
Reaction score
Hi all hope everyone's had good weekend.

I am currently studying for 2394/5 and and getting used to testers/testing by doing abit around the house. Where the insulation test is concerned i still have a few questions. I have a 2 way lighting circuit in living room and although i know that i should test both switches to include strappers. The light fitting is 10*12W and has a transformer. Will passing 500v through this potentially damage it? if so how can this circuit be safely tested without taking the fitting down. I also have a SELV shaver socket in bathroom and although i have read (maybe mistakenly) on other threads that i need to just disconnect at board and connect L and N together and test between these and earth. Is this still not going to pass 500v through SELV socket. Also been advised to switch light off in bathroom but i wouldn't think this makes any difference as SELV socket is just looped off light anyway.

Cheers

If it's a new installation you need to disconnect the light and the shaver socket.

If it's an existing installation you have to use your professional judgement to decide whether joining L and N and testing to E only is acceptable.

And I very much doubt that your shaver socket is SELV, you don't get many electric shavers that work on 50volts or less!