Discuss RCD2-6330 Has been soaked........Question? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, I am not an electrician but thought I would ask the experts. I had a major leak in the roof of my garage which was just above my consumer unit. Now eveything was working fine prior to the leak and the switch/trip feeding the garage tripped (obviously) with the leak.
I disconnected every circuit in the consumer unit (marking where each one goes first) and then using a hair dryer (fed by extension from hallway) I began drying each one out, it took a couple of days to do (after solving the roof leak), but they all seemed dry. I have a cheapie circuit test meter which I used to check if, when I swithched each of the individual trips/switches on/off they would show that when I switched on they would show on and vice/verser as they should so using my circuit tester.
I thought they had dried all ok so re-connected each one and switched back on the mains from the main feed in the house.
All OK with everything awiched off in the garage consumer unit, now I switched on the main one in the garage marked '63A 30mA' (I was told this would be the 'feeder' for the box by an old electrician I know that I see when walking my dog), and it switched on OK and stayed on.
Now when I try to switch ANY of the others on inside the consumer unit, the one marked '63A 30mA' switches itself off (but the main trip/feed inside the house which looks like all the others stays on).
Now I thought I'd be clever and disconnect all of them bar one (which fed sockets on the left hand side of the garage) after switching off the mains from the house.