Discuss Return to work, which courses to do? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good afternoon my name is Steve and I’m new to this forum.
I have a dilemma I’m a qualified electrician currently holding
Approved electrician JIB card
C&G 2360 part 1 & 2
NVQ 3
Testing & Inspection 2391
17th edition wiring regs
So I worked as a spark for about 16 years but had to stop due to bad health (5 years off) when I was working my firm delt with most of the paperwork side of things but now I’m ready to return slowly as my own boss.
I’ve just enrolled on the 18th edition course that I will start soon.
THIS IS WHERE IM STUCK.....

I was thinking of enrolling on the domestic installer niceic course that I believe will allow me to carry out electrical tests and remedial works in domestic properties? The only issues are I don’t have any recent jobs to show them and presumably can’t carry out any jobs without it and the cost is quite a lot as I might not get much work as I’m building it up in the first year.
Are there any cheaper alternatives that you guys use? Or any other routes I could take?
Like I say I will be part time changing consumer units / adding circuits and testing.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated ?

I don't think you need to do a domestic installer course, just the 18th edition. Then contact NICEIC or Napit and tell them what your qualifications are etc. They are usually quite helpful. They will accept a job or 2 for assessment, which you then have 30 days to notify.

I don't think you need to do a domestic installer course, just the 18th edition. Then contact NICEIC or Napit and tell them what your qualifications are etc. They are usually quite helpful. They will accept a job or 2 for assessment, which you then have 30 days to notify.