Discuss What qualification/training should I take? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

BrianHJR

DIY
Reaction score
At nearly 42 I’ve finally had enough of a very frustratin admin job in the NHS and decided that I should concentrate on gaining a useful trade qualification...
?
I’ve some extensive experience of electrical repair and installation work which where necessary I’ve had certificated, most recently a full installation of a new supply and 3-phase board and associated tracing and reconnection of circuits in a commercial building which had been derelict for many years. So I’m not starting from scratch and have a fairly good base of knowledge and experience.

Bearing in mind at this point I’m not certain exactly which sector I’m hoping to find work in, could anyone suggest what the best course/qualification would be to start off with? When you start to search, the choices start to become a bit overwhelming...

In terms of opportunities for assessment, I’m currently in the early stages of a self managed project to build 2 properties, however the point at which I reach electrical first fit stage may be some distance away yet...

Another thing to bear in mind is that I’m relatively skint. But I’ve never tended to let that hold me back in the past - however I do need to achieve the very best value for money possible.

Thanks in advance!

TL;DR
What qualification and training should I do?
I may be wrong but the industry is becoming much stricter on short courses in that they are requiring the course completion AND a period (I heard two years) of demonstrable work experience before they will accept you onto a scheme.

Note, this is only trade counter chatter, I've not researched it.

So, where previously you could do your short course then build your practical skills on the your own jobs*, this may no longer be feasible.