Discuss 3phase help in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Dave79

DIY
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am an artist and have a picture framing machine that is 3phase, bought it years ago and not sure if it is working and just want to test it. At my unit I have a 3phase consumer unit but no 3 phase power socket only 230v sockets. Because times are hard and I want to save money or die trying which most of you will agree will happen if I attempt this my self. I have attached a diagram of how I think it might be done just wanted the professionals opinion.
Thanks

Attachments

• 3phase connection.jpg
    71.6 KB · Views: 61
can't quite see the next to bottom picture. but...... first there is a convention as to which colour conductor is used for L1,L2,and L3, and this should be followed. second, there are 2 ways of connecting 3 phase equipment, star or delta. get this wrong and it's bye bye equipment. get phase sequence wrong and motors run in reverse.
i strongly advise you to enlist the services of an electrician experienced in 3 phase installs ( not a boil-in- the -bag domestic installer.). the new circuit must be supported by a EIC (electrical installation certificate) which shows that 1. the new work is safe and compliant, and 2. that your existing installation is safe in itself to perform additional works.

Hello everyone,
I am an artist and have a picture framing machine that is 3phase, bought it years ago and not sure if it is working and just want to test it. At my unit I have a 3phase consumer unit but no 3 phase power socket only 230v sockets. Because times are hard and I want to save money or die trying which most of you will agree will happen if I attempt this my self. I have attached a diagram of how I think it might be done just wanted the professionals opinion.
Thanks