Discuss Advice on how to become a qualified Electrician. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I am very interested in becoming an Electrician but am bamboozled by how many different companies offer numerous courses. I have no experience at all but have always had an interest on becoming an electrician, but due to unforseen circumstances, missed the chance from leaving school. I am now 25 yrs old and feel its now or never as I dont want to regret it in the future.

I have been looking for a while but am still unsure on what the best route is to take as different companies are contradicting each other on what is best for me.

Please can someone advise the best way, in terms of courses and an idea of what I should be paying, to get the correct qualifications?

is the below correct for a newcomer wanting to get into the Electrical trade? If so what is the next step?
Beginners Electrical Package ÂŁ2000-00 + Vat
includes:
PTS Introduction to Electrical Installer
PTS Certificate for Electricity at Work Regulations 1989
LOGIC Certificate for Domestic Electrical Installers (Part P)
City & Guilds 2382 17th Edition Wiring Regulations
City & Guilds 2392 Certificate for Fundamental Inspection & Testing
City & Guilds 2393 Certificate in Building Regulations (Part P)
The following publications are included at no extra cost;
EAWR Memorandum of Guidance
GS38 Electrical Test Equipment
IEE On-Site Guide (NEW)
Electrician's Guide to the Building Regulations
Electrician's Guide to Inspection & Testing
BS7671:2008 (Regs)
Duration of course 18-days.

Appreciate any advice.

Thanks

Betamax1988

Put the credit card away, and go and talk to your local technical college. There are no short cuts.