Discuss Help with wiring dimmer switch in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi. I am not an electrician. After some advice. I am changing a light switch in my house from a single on/off switch to a dimmer switch. When removing the old switch, there are 3 of each wire. 3 blue, 3 brown and 3 earth. The dimmer switch has 3 connections. L1, L2 and an arrow with a wavy line. Please could you let me know how I connect this as I've tried already and every time I turn the switch off, the fuse box trips. Thanks for your help.

Is there another switch involved with these lights, 2 way switching for hall, passage or stairs or is this the onlty switch for the light?

Were the 3 Blue wires all connected together and not into the switch.?

As above pictures of the Old switch, whether connected or not, the new switch, whether connected or not and a picture showing the cables in the box in the wall would be of great assistance.

did you take a pic before hand , post a pic up.
Hi, yes, please see attached photo of the wires in the switch and also the back of the dimmer switch. This is a single light switch and the light can't be operated from anywhere else. Thanks

Attachments

• 20201009_132041.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 37
  • 20201009_132049.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 35
Is there another switch involved with these lights, 2 way switching for hall, passage or stairs or is this the onlty switch for the light?

Were the 3 Blue wires all connected together and not into the switch.?
Hi, this is a single light switch, not controlled from anywhere else and yes the blue wires were all connected together away from the actual switch.

So did the original switch have the left-hand brown wire in one terminal, the adjacent pair of brown wires in the other terminal, and all three blue wires in a choc block separate from the switch?. And of course the earth connected.