Discuss New career as electrician- advice needed please. in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Dovey

Hello.

I am currently a serving member of the RAF. I am due to leave after 23 years service next year. I am an Aircraft engineer but have been around the building trade in one way or another all my life. I have aspirations to become an Electrician. Domestic/ commercial. I like the idea of solar panel installations too.

So, I have all the qualifications in the world relating to aircraft engineering, health and safety, risk assessment and management. What I really want to do is become a Sparky. My question is; where do i start, what qualifications do I need to become self sufficient in the field and how long will it take. I can do residential condensed courses and have access to over £6000 worth of education to use when I leave.

In addition, I will be seeking to do some gas/plumbing qualifications too.

all advice and guidance would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

all i can say is that if you want to enter a market that is over saturated with unemployed , qualified sparks, then good luck.

ifd anything, go for industrial, plc's etc. offshore, etc. theres no money in domestic work anymore.

i left the army as a 'spark', (qualifications weren't recognised, had to do a full apprenticeship on the outside). I originally started as an aircraft technician, but failed my final 2 exams and was booted off the course. I still keep in touch with a few of the boys that passed the trade, and they are now working for a hell of a lot more than me. AND I MEAN A LOT!

What i'm possibly trying to say...if you are interested in electrical installations, site work, etc, and you're not bothered about the money, possible unemployment, then yes, go for it.