Discuss What to do?? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Just a bit of background info on me before my question.

I'm a timed served Marine/Industrial electrician with 10+ years experience. Ive been building and testing nuclear submarines for my whole career with only slightly touching domestic in my first year at college for my PEO. I install and test a variety of different systems from 24v monitoring equipment to 440v 900A switch gear with some 240v DC 1000A batteries thrown in.

I want to get into the domestic side of things. Ive looked into doing one of these intense courses where you become a domestic installer, do your part P stuff and testing and inspection, both intial and periodic. So my question is does anybody have any experience with these courses and are they worth it, and if not is there any other route i can take? I have a family so dont really want to go and do an apprenticeship again, which seems like a waste of time as i have an elecrical apprenticeship and experience.

Thanks alot

you may consider looking for work in the industrial sector, your experience is more suited there, i would think. the domestic sector has become a dog eat dog scrabble with too many sparks chasing too little work, hence a race to the bottom.

Although I agree with @telectrix
you have the knowledge and skills to make a successful living from domestic work, do a fast course and get your hands on the tools.
with good customer service skills you should be able to make a go of it.

even if it doesn’t work out, going to an interview with honesty about your previous experience and not getting on with domestic work, will still give you a good chance of landing an industrial job later on.

Thanks for the replies,
Im not allowed too go into too much detail about what i do so cant really put across what experience i have, just that it lacks in domestic installation.