Discuss A retired Yank from Nebraska is coming to Edinburgh on a mission trip in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
To the right person, I would make it worth someone's time for a couple of hours of face to face instruction when I got there. I have over 34 years of electrical experience over a wide range of avenues. I will be coming to Scotland the 2d week of September. Would enjoy exchanging a few back and forth messages with some of you

Sounds like you need Big Clive, he's in Edinburgh next week doing the tattoo thing.

What were you thinking of doing on this meet up, dismantle the hotel room to see how it all works?

That's funny, because it would have to be the whole hotel not just the room. Just looking to discuss the few differences between the European loop system and the North American branch system

Sounds like you need Big Clive, he's in Edinburgh next week doing the tattoo thing.

What were you thinking of doing on this meet up, dismantle the hotel room to see how it all works?
That's funny, because it would have to be the whole hotel not just the room. Just looking to discuss the few differences between the European loop system and the North American branch system

So what is the project?

The big difference is that we separate the outlets from the lighting circuits….

Is it “loop” as in “ loop in” lighting? Also known as 3-plate?

Your “branch” circuits will be called “radial” here

I'm guessing the 'loop' mentioned by @gskrusen is our Ring Final Circuit?

It is very different to most of the world due to us having fused plugs, and so we can have 32A (or more, e.g. 45A cooker socket) feeds to the sockets independently of the size of appliance cable, etc. The RFC is really a copper-saving way to do that, and over a wider area, compared to the radial circuit.

A recent debate covered here: