Discuss Advice for a new electrician... in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

James4918

My first post on the forum so hi all.

Here is my situation. I am 28 years old have spent the last 3 years travelling in Australia and NZ. I have been working as a labourer and but completely unskilled work other than basic tools. Before this I was a waiter. Therefore I have no experience at all in electricals. However, I have been looking into becoming an electrician when I'm home in January. I have read a few bits online and specifically on this site that have been useful. From what I can see, my two main options are a 4 year course at my local college which is £500 roughly or a 7 month 2365 course through Tradeskills4u which is £7450. Obviously, considering my age, the 7 month course would seem the better option and seems to get good reviews on here. However, having spoken to a mate of a mate who is an electrician he recommends I do the full 4 years to get the proper, much needed experience.

I do think this is good advice but obviously it's not ideal considering I'll be 32 by the time I'm qualified and will have to survive on £3.30/hour for the first year.

I am just after any more advice from anyone who may have been in this situation or know an alternative.

Many thanks,
James.

Check out JIB rates for adult apprentices, if you can't get an apprenticeship then you should get whatever the going rate is for a labourer in your area while you are training (you'll probably have to pay for the courses yourself and do them in the evening or one day per week if you aren't an apprentice). Your pay rate will obviously improve as you become more skilled as long as you have reasonable negotiating skills or are prepared to move from one contractor to another.
http://www.unitetheunion.org/uploaded/documents/JIB_Ind_Det_2015_2016_v211-21163.pdf

My first post on the forum so hi all.