Discuss Becoming a fully qualified electrician in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

AMAR1

hi all i am new to site. I was looking into becoming a qualified electrician have looked at many routes but i am confused courses like the rf training & olci both say that after completing certain of their courses you are classed as a fully qualified electrician and can gain employment in certain areas.this is alot of money for something that might not be the right qualification for me. I have also looked at going to college but am confused on to what course to enrol on and what option is better for me. So could someone advise which option to go for training centre or a college course and what course would i have to enrol in at college?
Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Stay away from these "training centres", they will cost you a small fortune and the certs. in the real industry are meaningless!! Go through your local Technical College route as it will give you the proper qualifications, recognized in the industry, then try and get a sympathetic employer to take you on as either an apprentice or an adult trainee (dependent on age), contact the college and they will advise you how to begin and contact the apprentice training board ( think it's JTL in England, but SECTT in Scotland) and they'll help you. Good luck and once you start your training join Unite the Union, you might just need there help when the chips are down.

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY I HAVE BEEN READING ABOUT THE TRAINING CENTRES AND HAVE BEEN PUT OF BY WHAT I HAVE READ. I DID SPEAK TO MY LOCAL COLLEGE AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE THE FOLLOWING COURSE