Discuss Flogging a dead horse. in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rochdale sparky

Hi everyone im looking for some advice im 21 years old and im currently attending college for the 2330 level 3 course, i decided to become an electrician after a friend told me about a job with the company he works for back in 2009, i was an apprentice with the company which mainly focused on domestic work, i was enjoying the job but unfortunately they began to lose contracts due to the recession and it was a last in first out kind of thing, so instead of letting this get me down i enrolled at college as soon as i could and figured after i complete the level 2 ile easily find a job, this is not the case it seems every company i ring is just about keeping there own heads above water.

I have a lot of enthusiasm for the job and the trade overall but im really struggling to see the light at the end of the tunnel, no doubt there are a lot of people in my boat at the moment i have 3 months experience from over 2 years ago and most of the people on my course have been electricians since they were 16 and im wondering what it is that is holding me back from gaining employment and should i continue to keep flogging what at the moment seems like a well and truly dead horse is it really the case that if you dont have an uncle dave who works for a company you have no chance of getting a job, and if that is the case why are there 1000s of companies and college wilfully pulling people in to a course which at the moment there is a very slim realistic opportunity of getting a job in, never mind a carreer.

Any advice or thoughts would be really appreciated thank you.

I think you have answered your oen question, there just isnt the work, training centres blagg on about job opportunities that just don't exist and I cant see it getting better for at least 12 months