Discuss Insulation Test Problem (sorry!) in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

drummonkey

Hello to you all, and apologies for another question on this topic but I'm new to all this and completely stuck!
I've been testing a Ring Final circuit today with a Megger MFT and got a bizarre reading on one of the IR tests.

On the continuity test I seemingly got correct readings on all the tests, however I never tested Neutral to CPC at the time.

Then when I came to do the IR test on the ring everything was proceeding as planned until I tested Neutral and CPC. The meter just reads 0, not even a smidgen of a reading, am I right in assuming that there is a short between neutral and cpc?

When I then went to find the problem using a continuity test with outgoing Neutral and incoming CPC connected together and vice versa, I gradually get smaller readings towards one section of the ring, so is this where the problem is located?

I also noticed that in most of the sockets, I didn't need to turn the socket on to get my continuity readings whereas I'm sure I did for the Live/Cpc tests, is this indicative of the fault also.

Thanks so much for your assistance, apologies for asking and look forward to your replies:)

Alan

Then when I came to do the IR test on the ring everything was proceeding as planned until I tested Neutral and CPC. The meter just reads 0, not even a smidgen of a reading, am I right in assuming that there is a short between neutral and cpc?

Almost certainly.

When I then went to find the problem using a continuity test with outgoing Neutral and incoming CPC connected together and vice versa, I gradually get smaller readings towards one section of the ring, so is this where the problem is located?

Probably not. Ring resistance will vary around ring, max furthest away from CU.