Discuss Introduction I suppose in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

Outspoken

I have been posting for a couple of days now and thought I should post an Introduction.

My name is Jim, 47 years old, have been in the "electrical game" since I was 17 and a qualified Spark since completing a fully indentured apprenticeship in the mid 1980's. I completed the 236 part 1/2 and the C certificates before moving on to complete a HNC in Electrical and Electronic Enginerring.

I lived in Canada for 5 years to avoid family problems here at home and worked on heavy machinery in lumber mills, dockyards in the Oil/Gas industry and 6 months installation at a Nuclear Facility.

I have installed in domestics, but not since I was an apprentice as I hate it, as a deliberate thought process I have remained in the Heavy and Critical Installation arm of the industry. I was self employed and ran my own contracting company for many years, at it's peak we employed 84 Engineers, technicians and 12 additional support staff, but working away all over Europe and Africa cost me my first marriage so I made a change. I sold the company and for 10 years I have worked in Critical Services in the UK, a mix of Installation and Maintenance of systems. I have installed equipment for mobile phone cell infrastructure and equipment in Nuclear and classified facilities.

The most recent project is an installation that is both List X and List N which is a secure critical site deep in the wilds behind fences, armed MOD Police and dogs. Getting deliveries has been a nightmare because everything must be booked in at least 48 hours ahead and all drivers must be UK nationals to pass the main gate!!

I have been an IEE/IET member for about 15 years and was a CIBSE member but that lapsed, I currently have an application in to rejoin. I am in the throws of doing a distance learning MSc (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) and hope to complete that in 2015.