Discuss New Ceiling lighting please help, many thanks. in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jon74

P1510185.jpgP1510173.jpgP1510178 copy.jpg

Hi there and many thanks in advance for any help and advice. I have two new light fittings (identical design) which I wish to connect to replace the two ceiling pendants hanging in our hallway. I've pictured the two pendants and their connections above and the connection of the new light fitting. How do I do this please... I'm not a complete novice and I have a fairly basic understanding - any help is much appreciated, many thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
With all due respect Jon, if your "basic understanding" doesn't cover this then it's out of your reach mate.
It's not just about connecting them and hoping they work, You need to prove the circuit is safe to re-energise and use before you flick the switch on the MCB.

Switched live- l in new fitting, neutrals-N in new fitting, earths-E in new fitting and perm lives commend together in a wago or the like.

And no mention of safe isolation procedure, IR testing to ensure no trapped cables are shorting to earth, no proving of an earth to a metal fitting. Etc, etc.
Good grief!

Ask a MOD' to relocate this to the DIY section and allow you access there.

You will require an extra connector to connect the 2 red cores into to be careful not to loose the red sleeve on the black wire.

Reds into separate connector
Black into N
Black with red sleeve into L
Earth to Earth terminal.

Caution!!!!!!! the reds wires are permanent Live and will remain energised even with the light switch off, turn the power off at the consumer unit first and use a tester if you can to confirm no power

It's a fairly simple job - for an electrician. Hopefully the mods will move this to the DIY section.

1. Locate the circuit and isolate. Use locking off device.
2. Test at the light fitting to prove that the circuit is actually dead.