Discuss Old rewireable fuse boards, alterations and additions in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I am looking for some advice regarding old rewireable (3036) fuse boards in regards to additions and alterations. I am an electrician and have a relatively good understanding of the regulations, that said I have been working for myself until recently and now work for a company that completes disability adaptions including bathrooms, stairlifts, hoists etc. Previously when I encountered old rewireable fuse boards and the clients requirements were additional circuits or alterations to special locations I would either upgrade the existing system or turn the work away. My reasoning for this is adding separate consumer units for a kitchen, bathroom, outside lighting etc is nothing more than a "work around" to the installation and increased risk of customers or future electricians interconnecting between, complicated isolation of circuits/ areas within the property, any existing faults not rectified and so on. This is a personal preference only and I understand that not all would agree with me and some may even claim I am scare mongering clients into unnecessary work and cost, but this is not the case.

I have encountered some existing rewireable fuse boards that in reality are in desperate need of updating and possibly a partial or full rewire in my opinion. I have attached 2 images that I hope will help.

• Example 1 -- TT arrangement, no main earth, no bonding on water (well, there is a 4mm cpc connected in board to a pipe upstairs under the boiler, but not what id consider suitable at all), no bonding to gas, charring/ blackening of cables, no 100ma rcd, sockets on lighting circuit with no cpc (old rubber singles) amongst other issues.

I am tasked with installing a switched fused spur for stairlift only