Discuss Technical question for IR testing in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
So I’m an apprentice and I’m just trying to get a better understanding of the science behind this because the electricians who have said it have been quite vague and not properly explained.

Recently testing L-E for a circuit which was 0.02 ohms and the electrician said I will have to remove the neutral from the neutral bar of that circuit as it may be “getting a low reading via the neutral”. After doing so, it improved (not by much but beyond 1M ohm). Basically my first question is why is this the case?

The 2nd is it’s standard practice at my company when testing N-E to test between both neutral bar and earth bar, with no conductors removed as this will tell you overall the condition of the circuits and if the reading is bad you can start removing conductors to single out the faulty circuit.

However, some electricians at the company do NOT test between N-E because they say if you are clear between L-E it will be okay N-E. To me this does not seem right, as otherwise that test would not exist and it takes a matter of minutes to test and record readings. So my 2nd question would be is this a cop out to doing an extra test or a legitimate reasoning?

Recently testing L-E for a circuit which was 0.02 ohms and the electrician said I will have to remove the neutral from the neutral bar of that circuit as it may be “getting a low reading via the neutral”. After doing so, it improved (not by much but beyond 1M ohm). Basically my first question is why is this the case?
It's because of installed equipment:

You are apparently IR testing L-E of one circuit.